Competition summary of ISU | 09/01/2012
Essent ISU ESSC'2012 - Budapest (HUN)

Martina Sáblíková (CZE) and Sven Kramer (NED) were crowned the European Speed Skating Champions of 2012. It was Sáblíková’s fourth and Kramer’s fifth European title. Both won in the three longest distances.

The European Speed Skating Championships were held at the ice rink of the Hungarian capital Budapest. Between impressive museums and the city park with its old castle, it is part of a large pond that was turned into an artificial ice rink, where in 2001 the World Allround Championships took place. This year, with much wind but no rain and temperatures around five degrees Celsius, skaters from seventeen different countries gathered to compete for the European titles. Title defenders were Martina Sáblíková and Ivan Skobrev (RUS), who didn’t come to Budapest wouldn’t use a minor shoulder injury as a reason for rest.

Full story (page of ISU) >>>

Back >>>